Navigate / search


NOAA Pacific Islands Regional Office

    • The NOAA Pacific Islands Regional Office website includes pertinent information from the Sustainable Fisheries Division on the management of the pelagic fisheries of the Pacific Islands region  The website includes among other issues,
    • International Fisheries Management. Includes description of the international organizations (regional fishery management organizations) that have jurisdiction over Hawaii-based fisheries including the WCPFC, IATTC and other jurisdictions based on international agreements.  Includes a Documents and Data section that includes proposed, interim and final rules and annual reports to the RFMOs.  Proposed and Final Rules are available from the NOAA PIRO International Fisheries Division at
    • Resources and Related Links to Fishery Policy and Legislation including the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, Administrative Procedure Act, Coastal Zone Management Act, Endangered Species Act, Executive Order 12866, Executive Order 13272, Freedom of Information Act, Information Quality Act, Marine Mammal Protection Act, National Environmental Policy Act, Paperwork Reduction Act, Regulatory Flexibility Act, and the Migratory Bird Treaty.  View these documents at
    • Public Documents including 1) Biological Opinions and Assessments, 2) Compliance Guides, 3) National Environmental Policy Act Documents, 4) Federal Register Notices, 5) Quarterly and Annual Observer Reports and Technical Memos.  View them at

NOAA Pacific Islands Fishery Science Center

    • The NOAA Pacific Islands Fishery Science Center website included information on the research conducted in support of science-based management of the pelagic fisheries of the US Pacific Islands region.

Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council

    • The WPRFMC website is a central resource for information on how the fisheries are managed and maintains a public record of the Fishery Ecosystem Plans, the amendment process, public meeting announcements and documentation including full Council and Science and Statistical Committee (SSC) meetings, annual reports, FEP amendments, and regulations and actions.  Review them at

Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission

    • The Hawaii longline fishery operates under two Regional Fishery Management Organization (RFMO) jurisdictions, the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) and the Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC).  The international regulatory process involves the integration of federal management under NOAA and the Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council and international management measures from these two RFMOs.  The pelagic fisheries of American Samoa, Guam and Northern Mariana Islands are managed under WCPFC but not the IATTC.  The WCPF Convention draws on many of the provisions of the UN Fish Stocks Agreement [UNFSA] while, at the same time, reflecting the special political, socio-economic, geographical and environmental characteristics of the western and central Pacific Ocean (WCPO) region. The WCPFC Convention seeks to address problems in the management of high seas fisheries resulting from unregulated fishing, over-capitalization, excessive fleet capacity, vessel re-flagging to escape controls, insufficiently selective gear, unreliable databases and insufficient multilateral cooperation in respect to conservation and management of highly migratory fish stocks. A framework for the participation of fishing entities in the Commission which legally binds fishing entities to the provisions of the Convention, participation by territories and possessions in the work of the Commission, recognition of special requirements of developing States, and cooperation with other RFMOs whose respective areas of competence overlap with the WCPFC reflect the unique geo-political environment in which the Commission operates.

Inter American Tropical Tuna Commission

    • The Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC) is responsible for the conservation and management of tuna and other marine resources in the eastern Pacific Ocean.  The members of the IATTC are Belize, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, European Union, France, Guatemala, Japan, Kiribati, Korea, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Chinese Taipei, United States, Vanuatu and Venezuela.  Each member of the IATTC is represented by up to four commissioners appointed by the respective government.   The IATTC also has responsibilities for the implementation of the International Dolphin Conservation Program (IDCP) and provides the Secretariat for that program.  IATTC maintains information on the management of tuna and tuna-like fisheries in the eastern Pacific Ocean.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Hawaii Seafood Council

NOAA Fish Watch

    • NOAA Fish Watch website provides easy-to understand science-based facts to assist the public in making smart sustainable seafood market choices.  US seafood profiled on the website is responsibly harvested under strict regulations under NOAA and the Regional Council management.  These regulatory programs work to keep the environment healthy, the fish populations thriving and the US fishing and seafood industry working.

Magnuson-Stevens Act →